# NEWPORT VILLAGE HALL TRUSTEE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 6<sup>th</sup> JULY 2023 AT 7.30 P.M. IN THE MAIN HALL, NEWPORT VILLAGE HALL

#### **Present:**

Patron John Gordon, MBE

Acting Chairman Howard Bowman, Newport Parish Council

Acting Secretary
Bookkeeper
Bookkeeper
Maintenance Manager
Parish Council Rep
Pilates
Pat Pleasance
Elaine Edwards
Rob Willis
Janet Arscott
Tricia Ackron

Rainbows Colette Williams
Brownies Debbs Helliar
SWSO Robert Furber
NATS Will Murray
Playgroup Christing Mayle

Newport Essex Playgroup Christine Mayle

Boccia Jo Arundall

Sue Parish Resident Rob Myall Resident S Fleetwood Resident L Fleetwood Resident Peter Arscott Resident Sandra Amos Resident Don Alexander Resident Karen Turner Resident Jean Humpreys Resident Nicola Sorrell Resident Julie Utton Resident Lydea Ward Resident Diane Dedman Resident Cecilia Gordon Resident Jacqui Coverdale Resident Deb Baker Resident David Mayle Resident Debbie Miles Resident Lyn Gilbert Resident Carol Knights Resident Jack Cooper Resident Dee Harbridge Resident Moira Greenwood Resident Phil Grimwood Resident Moira Palmer Resident Sandra Crow Resident Resident Steve Crow Elizabeth McGovern Resident Mark Patmore Resident

# 1. Election of Chairman of the Meeting

Following the resignation of the Hall's Trustees and Business Manager, Mr Howard Bowman, Newport Parish Council Chairman offered to chair the meeting. This was proposed by Sandra Amos, seconded by Rob Myall and there being no other candidates this was accepted.

# 2. Apologies

There were no apologies

# 3. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on the 11<sup>th</sup> May 2022

The minutes of the previous meeting had been circulated previously and the Chairman asked the Meeting to accept the Minutes as a true and fair record. This was proposed by Christine Mayle and seconded by Sean Fleetwood and the Minutes were approved.

# 4. Matters Arising from Minutes of the Meeting held on the 11<sup>th</sup> May 2022

There were no matters arising.

#### 5. Chairman's Comments

The Chairman explained that Newport Parish Council acted as a Custodian Trustee to the Village Hall but had no responsibility for the day-to-day management. However, following the resignation of the Hall's Trustees and Business Manager and many concerns expressed to the Parish Council by residents it was felt appropriate for the Parish Council to intervene in an attempt to appoint new management so that the Hall could continue to provide a valuable village amenity.

#### 6. Annual Report 2022/2023

The annual report for 2022/2023 had been circulated prior to the meeting and was available on the Village Hall website. Approval of the report was proposed by Sean Fleetwood, seconded by Janet Arscott.

# 7. Premises Report

The Premises report was deferred to the next meeting of the Trustee Management Committee.

#### 8. Nomination of Officers

All Elected Trustees are required to resign at the Annual General Meeting and stand for re-election. The Hall's governing document allows for 6-8 Trustees. The following have offered themselves for election:

### Karen Turner- seconded Nicky Sorrell

Karen has lived for 18 months in Newport having previously lived in Little Hallingbury. She is a JP and Bookkeeper and would like to become more involved in village life

#### Julie Utton - seconded Karen Turner

Julie has lived for 11 years in the village and her children have attended the local schools. She attends many clubs at the Village Hall.

#### Sean Fleetwood – seconded Janet Arscott

Sean has lived for 35 years in the village and has children and grandchildren locally. He has worked in International trade, including dealing with HM customs, He would like to see the village hall be a community based facility to serve villagers.

#### **Christine Mayle – seconded Lyn Gilbert**

Christine has lived for 40 years in the village and has a background in education. She has previously served as a Trustee but resigned last year shortly after the AGM. She attends 2 clubs at the village hall and is part of the management team for Newport Essex Playgroup.

#### Nicky Sorrell – seconder Peter Arscott

Nicky has worked in the village for 13 years and her husband runs the village cricket team. She would like to help run the village hall so it is the best it can be.

#### Peter Arscott - seconded Tricia Akron

Peter has lived in Newport for 35 years and previously served as Project Manager at the village hall over a period of 15 years.

# Mark Patmore - seconded Sue Parish

Mark lived for 25 years in Newport but now lives in Saffron Walden and works as a Finance Director

#### Moira Grimwood – seconded Sean Fleetwood

Moira was born in Newport and the village hall was built on her Grandad's vegetable plot! She would like to keep the hall running as a valuable village asset.

Mark Patmore is willing to stand as Chairman, seconded Christine Mayle and was elected unopposed.

The appointment of the Officers for the year will take place at the first Trustee Management Committee Meeting following the AGM.

# 9. Appointment of Independent Examiner

Peter Hill has indicated he does not wish to stand for re-election and the appointment of a new Independent Examiner will be the responsibility of the new Trustee Management Committee.

#### 10. Any Other Business

The first meeting of the new Trustees will be arranged for the w/c 10<sup>th</sup> July.

Jack Cooper requested confirmation of a private booking for an event in September. Elaine Edwards confirmed that this was in place.

The Boccia group is awaiting a response to an email recently sent. Elaine Edwards has access to this email account and will respond.

Christine Mayle expressed her thanks to Elaine Edwards for picking up some of the administrative work in the absence of the Trustees and Business Manager.

Howard Bowman offered some advice to the new Trustees in that the hall should be financially viable, provide an asset to the village and listen to its users.

# 11. Date of Next Annual General Meeting

The next Annual General Meeting is to be arranged. The meetings are usually held in May.

There being no further business, the Meeting closed at 8.30 p.m.